An introduction to Exploring Events (blogging 101 day13)

Yesterday (B101 day12) I’d been meaning to get on with making new posts but caught up over and again with reading and comments instead. I enjoyed it a bit too much, other than losing track of time and getting behind with essential things. I’d read the day 12 blogging101 task wrong, or rather remembered it wrong, so had been partially preparing myself all day for something I didn’t have to do. Having spent so much time reading and commenting I’d more than completed the day 12 suggested activity without needing to do anything else – hooray!

So now I’m preparing for the day 13 topic of finding another event to take part in. Thought I’d make a notes to self post of potential easy-access challenges for the current time-frame and then decided I should probably share it. Reaching 1600 words, I decided I should split it into sections for the sake of my ideal reader who may or may not wish to stay on the page.

My brain’s on frazzled mode so I’ve looked for easily accessible challenges that will be fun to take part in without too much ‘work’ or brain-drain. Taking part includes visiting other participants’ posts and leaving feedback so I need to reserve that time and energy also.

There are lots of new challenge events I’d not seen previously at the Daily Post events listing page. There’s a tremendous variety of these link-up events and challenges for all kinds of interests. If you’re a knitting enthusiast there’s an event. I’ve seen several for cooking or love of food, others for music in various ways. There are plenty of creative writing, flash fiction, poetry and photography challenges.

I was only slightly surprised to see something for horseback riders who blog. Is there one for ‘wish I could get my skates on while I blog’? I’d like more time and energy to explore some more thoroughly – or hopefully to spot other blogging101ers posts about this topic and learn more that way.

Some of the events listed are one-time only and past, others say recurrent and appear inactive, but perhaps only temporarily. It doesn’t actually stop you using the idea for a ‘practice challenge’, responding and using the tag. Or perhaps rounding up a few interested bloggers to join you in doing so. Whether alone or as a group, linking back to the event to let the host know you loved their idea and took part via the magic of blogging time travel has been well received by hosts so far 🙂 (You can probably communicate that idea more sensibly than me!)

Once upon a time, a few weeks ago, being curious, I was looking back to the very first Weekly Photo challenges from the Daily Post in February 2011 (about twenty pages back). The prompt was CURIOSITY!

I had intended ‘time-travelling’ and maybe showcasing interesting things I found along my travels that afternoon. Perhaps that’s another way of taking part in events, if not wishing to enter a challenge – bearing in mind usual etiquette, issues of copyright etc.

I spent an afternoon blog-hopping those Curiosity photo challenge responses and flitting through the blogs that were still active. In one of them I found that there was a free association word event that had been running a very long time and is still active. You simply respond spontaneously to a short list of words with another word for each and post back. I saved the link (somewhere!) but haven’t returned to take part so maybe I’ll check it out again…

Are you keen to take part in events? Is there anything stopping you so far? Are you confused by the multitude of possibility, tired of finding outdated info and inactive listings, unsure of how to take part? Are you thinking of testing an idea by posting a simple one-off challenge on your own blog during Blogging101? Maybe you have already, if so, please leave a link in the comments 🙂

Exploring Events, Part 1, next post…

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

