Unexpected – a collaborative poem (Writing 101)

A collaborative poem written by writing101 participants between 23rd September and 2nd October 2015. Special Thanks to Sonya, Sarah, Megan and Stu for contributing verses.

Unexpected

He tried to hit me with a forklift
– A blessing in disguise: 
When I opened up his presents
I could not believe my eyes.

He tried to hit me with a forklift!
so I raised on high my spoon –
he was blinded by reflection,
though only temporarily doomed.

He was drunk, under the influence
and couldn’t drive in a straight line.
Although his fine was heavy
he should have really got some time!

He tried to hit me with a forklift.
He thought he was the hulk.
He got a hernia trying to lift it –
Now he can only sulk.

He tried to hit me with a forklift
But I crouched down just in time.
His fist will not hurt me –
He cannot call me “mine”.

I’ve no idea who pulled my strings
or pushed my lever so –
I didn’t mean to scare you
– now that forklift’s got to go!

He tried to hit me with a forklift
so I screamed and ran away,
but he posted me a love letter
convincing me to stay.

Now there is no more a fork-lift
and I fret for fear no more –
Cos I took a class in martial arts
– kicked his aggression out the door!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem has been constructed as an online project with responses left in the comments section for my post at One4Fun so you can check it out there if you like to see how it originated.

Group credits and editing notes:

Sonya of Only 100 Words very kindly left the first response which was rich with theme and imagery. Editing was necessary to produce a consistent form, one or two slight changes were made with a very few of my own words added to make two verses from Sonya’s one verse. Sonya deservingly receives full credit for verses 1 and 3, also for the title.

Sarah of This and That With Me contributed a verse, now at verse 4, that raised the monstrous theme of rage via the ‘hulk’. This was delivered with her usual wonderful sense of humour providing a fantastic emotional juxtaposition. Slight addition of punctuation applied.

Megan of The MomHood responded with a resolute verse (now at verse 5) incorporating the themes from responses so far and presenting a strong female character for our poem – this seemed to particularly influence the next participant, the only male to join in. I applied punctuation to Megan’s verse also.

stu of Pitter Patter Poetry left an apologetic verse bravely taking on the role of male assailant we were creating here! (verse 6). I altered punctuation slightly.

Verse 2 is the example I left in the first comment section – I preferred Sonya’s first lines as the opening verse and the remainder to follow it. I wrote verses 7 and 8 today to complete the poem, inspired by other contributor’s responses.

The original post where this collaborative engagement took place is at One4Fun, my other blog.

15 thoughts on “Unexpected – a collaborative poem (Writing 101)

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:

    Just testing what a reblog looks like here with one of our writing101 collaborations. This was an unusual DP prompt and contributions from my classmates were excellent. It was good fun and we’ll maybe do some again at some future point.

    Like

    1. Excellent we shared a blog anniversary day 🙂 You can all repost on your blogs too of course if you want to. Or make it a new poem from rearranging or taking fragments of what we have here. Ditch the forklift if you like. Or we’ll start something new another time. Megan has a prompt stomp event to check out tomorrow too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

