You see…Sandbox Challenge#28

Oh, my increased posting routine isn’t all that much, but it is a challenge – and I forget which day is which for things! So, thinking there were two days left to do the loosening up excericise revealed last Thursday (that’ll be what muddled my expectation of prompt schedule perhaps), I slept instead of doing the quick post it would have taken.

So in the first way, that little girl pictured in today’s Sandbox prompt, dragging a heavy sack, is me, always dragging behind her the things yet to be sorted.

Before I get on with really considering this week’s prompt, I’ll return to last Thursday’s extra prompt for a loosening up excercise. The suggested task is to list words to describe your best friend; an enemy; and how would each describe you?

I’d like to think I don’t have enemies, although I have had opponents and adversaries and I’m not even beginning to go there. Maybe the one way to describe them would really be ‘enemy’. (Oh dear, I went there!) No – avoid enemies at all cost!

There are definitely those with whom I am not popular – some of them amongst close family members. The source of disdain tends to be my illness and not being able to live up to their expectations while they don’t have  a clue about the day-to-day realities and think  I should just be able to pull my socks up and try harder. Previous bezzy-pals turned out to be my ex-partner’s friends first and last, dropping me like a hot brick when my relationship ended. The things he had to say about me didn’t help, but I’m not going there in a hurry either.

Some of what I would maybe write for this isn’t the kind of thing I’d normally choose to share publically, centring around sensitive issues with some confidentiality concern for others. So, I’m dodging enemies!

lake-712118_1920

I could use the nearest to a best friend I’ve known in the last few years, but I don’t want to lose another one! So, (hu)man’s best friend is his or her dog, and so is mine!

My Boo is loving, caring, gentle, playful, sometimes boisterous, obedient (mostly) and dependable.

How she  would describe me: woof, woof, woof. Ruff! Woof. Yap, yap! (You have to believe it, I asked her!). 

I’m not doing the optional review this time round. Along the way of missing some weeks of the challenge, I reviewed progress and responses – mainly to identify and note the prompts I’d not tackled. I think I responded to seven at most from the eleven prompts for Part2. Now into Part3 and prompt#28:

The question asks what do you see of yourself in this little child? – the picture is of a young girl with a large heavy bag half her size that she is dragging behind her by its strap over her shoulder.

What I see, is my fear of my destiny being the moment I have to leave my home with only what I can carry or drag behind me and feeling lost and alone, helpless as a child. That really is the immediate thought that sprang to mind when I saw the photo ‘OMG! That might be my destiny!’

I might come back to this another time, or I might explore the prompt privately – or most likely, knowing me, chance would be a fine thing and it’ll be next Tuesday before I even know it….

dice-643639_1920

 

10 thoughts on “You see…Sandbox Challenge#28

  1. Colette, how I feel your pain! I, too, struggle with being a people-pleaser. I suppose my desire to please others came from my desire to receive my father’s approval. It was a struggle that I faced most of my life and while my dear dad is gone, it still affects me. I, do not like to think I have enemies like you, but I know I must, or at least people who have felt I did them wrong. Honestly, I never wanted to do anyone wrong, but then as individuals we all have our tattered and torn bags that we drag around and that affects how we interpret situations and people’s responses. Family continues to be my biggest challenge. I often feel ostracized by some members of my family due to my beliefs which I do my best to not push them, still they know how I view somethings and dislike me for that. I often feel as an outsider in my own family, but who knows, again, maybe its my bag of stuff! I am going to have to go back and do some of those limbering up sessions you all are talking about. I am very new to this blogging thing and do not have a lot of time. I am loving it though!

    Like

  2. Wow, I feel so much of your pain through your words. I have known those feelings all too well over my life. My heart goes out to you. Remember these words by Deepak Chopra: “What other people think of you is not your business. If you start to make that business your business, you will be offended for the rest of your life.” Have a blessed day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That feeling of wondering if one will ever be homeless… There’s nothing like it, is there. I think I will continue to worry about it until we get our house paid off. With Drollery looking to retire at the end of 2017, it’s on my mind a LOT!!! I get it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Calen, mine’s not an immediate concern, but I was actually homeless for a while a few summers ago – and came incredibly close 18months or so ago, so it’s pretty close to mind. Hope your retirement plans work out and everything runs smoothly 🙂

      Like

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

