Leap Day!

It’s also the last day of this year’s African-American History month in the U.S. I’m quite sure it doesn’t stop there and many of us remain interested all year and lifelong.

I don’t know much about any kind of history, least of all the school-taught version which was often dictated to a class of automatic-pilot-writers of teachers’copy. Meaningless.

History is full of meaning.

I’m not American, have no African ancestry that I’m aware of, but I find history interesting. At Blogger’s World , my (occasional) guest post for the ‘Authors who made history’ feature last week was about W.E.B. Du Bois. I discovered him on his birthday researching for my guest post of quotes elsewhere.

Did you know…?

Seventy six years ago, on Leap Day 1940, Hattie McDaniel became the first African-American to win an Academy Award, for her roles as Mammy in Gone with the Wind.

Source:wiki

“A woman’s gifts will make room for her.” Hattie McDaniel (source)

BlogHOME

 

 

5 thoughts on “Leap Day!

  1. Sure enjoying my visit. True it is leap year perhaps swishy for year challenge, ping for contributions, weekly or monthly poem or photo challenges , leap your June photos in before June lol…..just rambling ideas here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

