Sandbox Challenge 29 (part 1)

The potential for two Sandbox Writing Challenge prompts this week!

magic-40641_1280 What makes life magical?

Memories of childhood, then becoming a mum and cherishing those sparkling moments of their childhood’s and enjoying grandchildren and great nieces/nephews are all extra-special and magical moments in life. However rare those moments are now, for the distances between us, the magic is never any the less. Magical moments don’t fade with time (except with the misfortune of Alzheimer’s etc. for some).

And now, older and living alone? There’s still magic in everyday life, especially in nature. Every dawn chorus and every sunrise, every sunset and evensong (although I might sleep through many of both – dreams are magical too…); seeing and hearing the birds in the woodland beyond my backgarden any time of day; watching the bats circling and swooping at dusk through the summer; looking at the stars in any natural night sky – I’m incredibly fortunate to have such a splendid view from my back doorstep (I call it ‘my Lion King sky’ and it’s one of very few reasons I wouldn’t really wish to move home in spite of everything else!): the moonlight at twilight, past midnight and the luxury of a night sky set against trees and thicket that blocks the distant streetlight haze from the housing estates in the distance beyond at a lower land level.

Rainbows are glorious and seem magical too, although I know, of course, that it’s just optical illusion…; the varying colours and effects of almost any sky captivate me, but especially those that are deep jewel coloured or glisten with silvery mauves; having a garden, however ‘neglected’ and wilding, offers many magical moments of discovering insects and spiders and I even love the slugs and snails! I’m not a fan of moths, or daddy-long-legs (crane flies) but I love seeing butterflies in the garden – they just have to be how fairies were ever imagined. Flowers seem magical too – I must sow some for more butterflies!

painted-lady-butterfly-55995_1280

 

The internet is a magical place too. Doors open into whole new worlds, pathways into the very real happenings of our magical planet and its’ people; being able to ‘get to know’ strangers from the other side of the world or glimpses of their thoughts and imaginings, sharing creativity, accessing art and music and knowledge… shopping without leaving home…Being housebound and often immobile, the feeling of having virtual legs and roaming the vast expanses of the world-wibe-web. It can feel liberating, like you have the whole world in the palm of your hands, at your finger tips…

hands-600497_1920

One last thing I find magical, other than poetry and some types of writing, is art in various forms and guises…

hands-268317_1280

 

What would a magical day be like?            godmother-23815_1280    … just one day…?

I think I’ll ponder that question and return with part 2 later in the week…

All images used in this post are from pixabay.com (attribution free). Post updated 2am, 3/3/16
The WishingWell BlogHOME
13 thoughts on “Sandbox Challenge 29 (part 1)

  1. So bats? Eek! You doing neighborhood echoes you pictures? Ready made venue lol 😀 in bout four years here with creek at back….tiny thing….what should appear but a beaver in yard back no photo 😦 freaky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s the kind of view that looks better in words than in pictures I think 🙂 But I adore it. I’ll post some pics at some point – I took a load last june for photo101 that I never got round to posting and have taken plenty of daytime sky pics. I wish I could take photos of the sky at night but neither my camera nor phone are high enough resolution, besides which, I tend to wobble a lot, especially later on in day and by night time. whoops, 4am, how did that happen!

      Liked by 1 person

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

