The Revel is in the Details

“It’s not the number of details; it is the importance of them that we have to consider.”
Quality writing advice from Pam Kirst, a much appreciated founding member of our blogging101 ‘alumni’ group forum. Check out her latest and/or previous posts at Blogger’s World via the link below… and, if you’ve time, her own blog, https://pamkirstblog.wordpress.com is bursting with originality too!

Blogger's World!

Write a descriptive essay about the place you do your school work, I would tell my students. They would sigh, and they would labor, and they would hand in papers.

Jared’s essay might look like this:

My desk is four feet long and two feet wide. It is made of wood with metal legs. On top of it is my laptop, and a cup full of pens and pencils. I have a chair that is padded and has wheels.

A vague and sterile picture forms in my mind. So I go back to the writer.

Where is your working space, I ask him. Is it in your room?

No! Jared says, shocked–as if I should know exactly where he works. It’s in a corner of the family room.

Wow, I say. That’s open. Is it noisy?

Oh YEAH, he says. My sister always has the TV on, and she’s talking…

View original post 671 more words

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

