Farewell February, onward March!

This was the scene beyond my backyard, on yesterday’s last morning of February…

SAM_3040.JPG

… and two days ago I spotted these two tiny snowdrops finally making their annual emergence and remembered to capture this somewhat hasty and poorly composed snap of them while outside with my camera to hand…

SAM_3046.JPG

Maybe this year I’ll manage something better with the garden! I used to love gardening but for all sorts of reasons I haven’t managed any here enough. These bulbs were brought with me from my previous garden at the family home I left behind. Nothing else survived beyond the first year. Bordering a country park and nature reserve type area there are creatures like moles around and my gardens shown signs of molehills for a few months now, so I wonder if the bulbs get eaten perhaps – or maybe there’s just too much shade and damp.

Here in the Midlands we haven’t really had winter so far, although it was cold today and there had been warnings of ice to look out for, though no sign of any by the time I got myself outside. Until ‘storm Doris’ hit last week – ripping my fences to shreds some more – winter has seemed unusually and eerily quiet and the skies have all too often been jewel shades of blue. I haven’t kept a sky-watch as much as I’d hoped for being quite out of sorts, as is embarrassingly obvious when looking back at my scatty ranting posts(!) Never mind, could be worse and if March winds doth blow, we could still soon have snow comes to mind, (but apparently that rhyme should be ‘The North wind doth blow…’ it’s just not how I remember it).Really, it should be daffodils making an appearance, given that  I did buy some daff-bulbs for this garden once upon a time and as it’s St. David’s Day… but two tiny snowdrops are better than none at all and will have to suffice for now. Maybe next year’s spring garden will be blooming lovelier… in the meantime, Happy March onward, hopefully 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Farewell February, onward March!

    1. lol, i just panicked cos the dates the worng format and i thought i missed this from February! I just pressed to tWW where my blogging101 was originally at and then i’m linking from swishy to my tWWpost for the w101 task and then if u wanna post any at swishy i’ve not stole ur choice at any seat or table, any area u like 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

