Music Be the Food of Love…

candle-66307_1920

February is a strange month. My Dad died in February, twenty-one years ago, so it’s a month I find myself missing him often and remembering him lots. Bereavement and loss are a universal experience, and Valentines Day will be a very difficult time for some.

Valentine’s is a strange time too. I’m not religious as such, but we have this notion of giving things up for Lent and waiting all the way until Easter before we relent, give in to temptation and revert to our wicked gluttoness ways. Yet only a few days after Ash Wednesday, there’s the idea that you should be treated with fine chocolate and sweet goodies for Valentine’s – and that if you’re single, you should ‘treat yourself’. The commercial pressure for Valentines is similar to that for Christmas, only less, because there’s only one recipient. You shouldn’t have to spend money to show someone you love them… although of course, if you’re celebrating together, it usually requires spending of money…

I’m still trying to work out what ‘Candlemas’ is about – another puzzling February non-phenomena.

~~~

For a change, enjoyment of music was how I treated myself a little this extended Valentine’s weekend, starting with Nine Inch Nails, ‘With Teeth’ on Friday evening.  Saturday afternoon / early evening, I enjoyed considering my Valentine’s playlist, although I sang some parts of my fave songs to myself while making my list, and I only actually listened to some Liam Bailey – but he’s a fine Valentine’s Eve virtual companion. My very late Saturday night was made extra-special by catching indie-band LunarTides live-streaming on TwitchTV, I often miss it due to the time-zone difference. Apparently it was their last one for a while, to concentrate on making a CD – I cannot wait to get my ears round one!

valentine-1170625_1280

Sunday, I slept most of the day, having been awake most of the night and early into the morning. Once I woke and got my blogging-boots back on again, I spent quite a lot of time enjoying the vibes over at Calen’s blog, it’s such a serene atmosphere, mindful, calming, uplifting… It only occurred to me today that I could play her tunes in one tab while reading her posts in another (doh!) I was so pleased to find her post for Lee Marvin, ‘Wandering Star’ – playing that took me right back to our living room, watching that film with my dad when I was a kid – every time it was shown, we’d watch it. I also lapped up some Joni Mitchell, the Drifters, a few others, and picked up some interesting background info I didn’t know along the way.

I’m really enjoying reading Calen’s Lent challenge responses every day and returning more frequently than a couple of times around the weekly Sandbox challenge, I notice more of the wonderful things I’ve been missing there. As I said earlier, I’m not really religious-minded, but Calen’s Lent posts are worldly and relevant and I give joyful thanks for the period of Lent having some meaning for me this year – and the blessings of internet acquaintance – virtually meeting real people in a very real online world. (I have given up buying chocolate and sweets for Lent too, I’ve never really bothered giving anything up for Lent before).

I recommend to watch and listen to this, it is absolutely amazing and was a lovely Valentine’s Sunday listen. My absolute favourite of the day though was finding some Leonard Cohen, closely followed by eleven minutes of I Heard It On the Grapevine..

Tomorrow, I must remember to revisit and start the day with this to get my spirit racing… and have another listen to this over at Fim’s and check out more of the medicinal while there…

sadness-453759_1920

 

Confession: 

It’s way past midnight while I’m updating this post, but published privately, I cheated on my date…

Mmm, that might give the wrong impression. Never mind…going public, with pre-saved date stamp…[updated post].

 

8 thoughts on “Music Be the Food of Love…

  1. Thank you, Colette, for the shout out for The Monday Music Medicine Show!

    A bit more about Candlemas:

    Imbolc, in the Celtic seasonal calendar marked the beginning of the lambing season and signaled the beginning of Spring and the stirrings of new life. It is Feile Brighde, the ‘quickening of the year’. The original word Imbolg means ‘in the belly’, and therein you have the underlying energy. All is pregnant and expectant – and only just visible if at all, like the gentle curve of a ‘just-showing’ pregnancy. It is the promise of renewal, of hidden potential, of earth awakening and life-force stirring. Here is hope. We welcome the growth of the returning light and witness Life’s insatiable appetite for rebirth.

    It is time to let go of the past and to look to the future, clearing out the old, making both outer and inner space for new beginnings. This can be done in numerous ways, from spring cleaning your home to clearing the mind and heart to allow inspiration to enter for the new cycle. (‘Spring cleaning was originally a nature ritual’ – Doreen Valiente). it’s a good time for wish-making or making a dedication.

    Imbolc is traditionally the great festival and honouring of Brigid (Brighid, Bride, Brigit), so loved as a pagan Goddess that her worship was woven into the Christian church as St Bridget. She is a Goddess of healing, poetry and smithcraft. She is a Goddess of Fire, of the Sun and of the Hearth. She brings fertility to the land and its people and is closely connected to midwives and new-born babies. She is the Triple Goddess, but at Imbolc she is in her Maiden aspect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fim, thank you so much 😀 I knew there was an ancient belief connection but couldn’t find whatever I’d read before and google search results aren’t often the best ways of finding out things when pages are rated by use of SEO than quality and credibility of information, is how it seems- you used to be able to type into the search box to go to page 3zillion and ten if you wanted to find the really good stuff, but they limit page access now for whatever business reason. It’s really odd that I’ve been having this candlemas thing nagging at me but your generous sharing brings me hope that it’s a sign of imminent renewal and healing, if not for me, for someone else 🙂 maybe it’s just a sign for me to start springcleaning, it is definitely needed. Thanks again so very much Fim, that is exactly the next gap in my wondering after Calen kindly explained the first 🙂 I’ll be exploring your Monday Music Medicine again very soon – sometimes I think I must have cottonwool behind my eyes and between my ears to just miss so much, when I know I’ve seen something of it before and meant to go back to 🙂 catch up with you later 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome, Colette! I’ve been celebrating the Turning of the Wheel at each Sabbat for at least 24 years. Imbolc (Candlemas) has also been about what inner goals you have for the growing season. As the Earth comes to life and grows, so too do we, on our inner journey. February is the quiet time just before the return of Spring, and it’s a contemplative time when we can look forward and decide what we want to do during the next season. Spring cleaning fits right in there; making our nest new and tidy. I remember my mother’s thorough house cleaning, top to bottom, at the beginning (Spring) of the year, and when we near the end of the growing season, in Autumn. Sadly, I would not make her proud. But I can live with the clutter. 🙂

        I do look forward to you visiting The Monday Music Medicine Show… The theater is always open and everyone is welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheated on your date! LOL Good one, Colette! Candlemas Day is traditionally the day when Mary was no longer considered “unclean” 40 days after the baby’s birth and they could take Jesus to be presented at the temple. It was the day Mary and Joseph meet Simeon and Anna, both of whom prophesied about who Jesus was. Does that help? I think that’s mainly a Catholic observance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a very clear explanation of Candlemas, thank you 🙂 I’ve seen mention of it here and there, and the presentation of baby Jesus at various temples on various dates, but guess it’s all another part of the story that i’d long since forgotten 🙂

      Like

Leap in, your comments and feedback are very welcome RSVP :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.